Launch the Virtual Tour

Loughborough

01509 211120

Book Online

Experience the pleasure of Excellence

It's not often you’ll find a Guest House that can stand so proud of the comments and feedback that’s left by their guests on a daily basis. We have built our reputation and business on the satisfaction experienced by people just like you.

Over the years we've spent many hours listening carefully to the views and experiences of our guests and ensured that we always take any feedback constructively in the aim of improving your experience.

We'll take your word for it

With the fantastic communication opportunities brought about by the Internet, we’re delighted that you now have the means to share your experiences, not only on our website, but also with the wider world on other recognised review websites such as Trip Advisor.

Guest Reviews

Satisfactory
We stayed only one night as we attended a birthday celebration. Welcome was ok they were busy with a funeral, reception confusing. Room was a twin room and very nice, shower was poor, hot tap was cold water. Bed was ok faciites was ok. Breakfast was ok they staff were spot on. A little pricey for what you get.

Mr. Katen Mistry - 14th Jun, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hello, Yes we did have a funeral tea on when you arrived but you were shown to your room when you arrived, you were also asked when paying your bill if everything was ok with your stay and you replied yes. Please do not say everything is ok, and then but a review on saying that all was not ok. We are sorry that you felt the above points were unsatisfactory, if we are made aware of your feelings whilst you are here, then maybe we could rectify the matter then. Your room was at a reduced price.

Comfortable Stay And Flexible Staff
I had a very comfortable night here.

The staff were very friendly and flexible, allowing me to drop the car in the car park and come back to check in later (I had to be somewhere in a hurry).

The En Suite single room wasn't quite en suite - I had to nip over the (almost) private hallway at the top of the stairs. The bedroom door closes and locks automatically, so if you were to go the bathroom in your pants without your key, you might find yourself in an embarrassing situation. Luckily, I managed to avoid that, so it wasn't a problem for me.

Breakfast was excellent, the room and bathroom very clean, and the location was a short walk from town center.

I'd stay here again and recommend it.

Many thanks!

Mr. Craig - 6th May, 2014
Verified Review

Impressive
We loved our night stay at Charnwood Lodge. Beautiful room.. spotlessly clean. Food lovely.Easy parking spaces. Excellent.

Mrs. Wendy Day - 4th May, 2014
Verified Review

Lovely Guest House
We had a brief but enjoyable stay at Charnwood Lodge. The flexibility in terms of check-in time was very helpful and the large amount of free parking available at the accommodation was great. Our twin room was clean and comfortable and very good value. The breakfast was also delicious! Plenty of info in the guest house regarding nearby attractions and taxi info. Would happily stay here again.

Miss. Kate Bailey - 7th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Business Travel
Excellent stay. Clean and tidy, friendly staff and good free internet.

Mr. Dean Moody - 14th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Very Happy - Professional And Friendly
Very happy with our stay - lovely people and extremely good price. Thank you

Mr. Andrew Harper - 9th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review, it is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us
Regards
Liz

Wounderful Rest
The Charnwood Lodge a place of what any traveller needs. Quite, great hospitality, friendly staff and clean rooms are part of this sweet place.

Close to the shops and restaurants.
Many parking.
Very reasonable price.

I would recommend it for family and individual.

Mr. Mohammed Al Aufi - 28th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review, so uplifting to know that we are making our guests stay a pleasurable one.
Regards
Liz

Comfortable Accommodation
We found this B & B very convenient to the town centre, quiet and comfortable. The service was very good and breakfast good.

Mr. Michael Wilkey - 25th Feb, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, hope to see you again soon

Liz and Klaus

Perfect!!!
What a lovely place. Even though its on quite a busy road, it was very quiet and when in the lovely cosy room, with big tv and free wireless, with a nice mug of tea and your feet up after a hard days drive what more do you want.
Breakfast was also lovely and set us up for the next day.
Thankyou

Mr. Paul Winward - 27th Jan, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Mr Winward, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again if you are in the area

Nice And Comfortable
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is conveniently close to the Great Central Railway. The bed was very comfortable, although perhaps a bit too large for the room. Good service and good breakfast. The only thing I don't understand is the absence of a mixer tap, but that seems to be a British thing ;-)

Mrs. Marsha Van Wieren-boelaars - 25th Sep, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your review, I am sorry we do not have mixer tap,

A Good Nights Sleep
Good value for money. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds. Would definitely stay again.

Mr. Tony Foschi - 1st Aug, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your review

Nice And Friendly
Beautiful interior and nice rooms. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean, Breakfast was well cooked. If the TV would have had international programs I would have given 5 stars. The Loughborough shopping mall is in walking distance. Internet is available and fast enough for e-mails and surfing.

Mr. Claus Hoffjann - 22nd Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your review, we hope to see you again

Ashes Accommodation
As no knowledge of area, I picked Charnwood Lodge from good Trip Advisor reviews, for accommodation whilst seeing England win at Trent Bridge cricket ground. Short drive (25 mins) from Loughborough to Nottingham park and ride, although nearby train station another option. Easy to find and lots of parking. Room was bright and clean and comfortable, with en-suite, TV and free wi-fi, staff very friendly, and breakfast was first class. Would readily recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Mr. Richard Woollett - 16th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your review, I was on holiday at this time, it is nice to know that my staff keep up the good work whilst I am away, maybe i will see you next time
Liz Charwat

Probably Good, But...
A conveniently located, clean guest house. The room I was in was rather stuffy so to have a window open I had to wedge the door to stop it rattling. Also the place was full of teenagers that were out until the early hours and made a racket on their return. I was probably unlucky in this experience but the lack of sleep was not conducive to an early working start.

Dr. Darren Lilleker - 8th Jul, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review, we have our maintenance team looking at your remark regarding the 'rattling of the door', this is the first time it has been reported, if there is a problem with the door it will be rectified. We did have a small number of apprentices in at the same time as you, as all our guest we hope they respect other people especially coming in late at night, we did speak to the people we thought may be involved and as you know one did say he was on the phone late at night and wanted to apologise to you in person if he disturbed you, but you had gone before he could do so.

Regards
Liz

Excellent Accommodation
We found the Charnwood Lodge Accommodation very convenient to the Railway Station for the Steam Train Murder Mystery Dinner within 5 minutes walk, and the bed was the most comfortable we had found. I also loved the shower as most accommodation has only the bath/shower combination which I find hard to get into.

The staff were very accommodating and I would highly recommend this place.

Mrs. Christine Kaye Rogers - 22nd Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hello, Many thanks for your great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to your next visit
Regards
Liz

Weekend Break
Could not Fault this Guest House. Great welcome,high standards and perfect location make it a perfect place for a weekend break in the area. Great breakfast too!

Colin Haydock - 22nd Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Helloo, Thank you for your great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
see you again hopefully
Liz

Great Guest House
We only stayed here for a couple of nights but Charnwood lodge was a really nice place to stay and very easy to find. The decor throughout was really nice and made us feel right at home and very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was really nice and tasty. It's in a good location with the added bonus of plenty of parking spaces. We would stay here again if in the area and would highly recommended it.

Mr. Jonathan Miles - 14th Jun, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your great review, so pleased that your stay with us was up to your expectations

Regards
Liz

Excellent
Excellent guest house, very clean, lovely rooms, helpful and friendly staff, and a very nice breakfast. What more can you ask for.

Mrs. Debbie Sainty - 27th May, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Mrs Sainty for your review, It was a pleasure having you stay with us
Kind Regards Liz

Excellent Place To Stay
Very friendly, efficient, and adaptable to the needs of individuals and family. Good location and plenty of parking space. Great service and a great place to stay.

Mr. Alun Rosser - 26th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us, they children are a credit to you they are so polite
Liz

Charnwood Lodge
Great hotel, friendly staff and great service. Would stay here again!

Miss. Gillian Kenyon - 23rd Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again

A Great Place To Stay
Booked two nights here on Friday and Saturday, for a wedding at a nearby hall. Very comfortable bed in a large room with ensuite and very nice decor. There was a good full English breakfast with cereals served on hot plates. Liz and Klaus are very welcoming and took time to talk, they also advised on places to eat on the Friday.
Would stay here again with no second thoughts.

Alec Davies - 15th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
It was a pleasure having such a nice couple stay with us, we look forward to you coming again

Comfortable And Quiet
The hotel was just what we needed. Walking distance to Loughborough town centre and the Great Central Railway, and close driving distance to my training location.
I chose this hotel for its location and for the Wi-Fi so my wife could work while I was out at the course. The room was very comfortable, although the bed was squeezed in, not leaving much room. The shower was nice and hot. Parking was convenient. Breakfast was excellent. Check-out was fast. We had a little trouble checking-in due to a faulty door bell. Otherwise, excellent. Price was appropriate for the standard.

Dr. Chris Cockel - 8th Apr, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your comments, the door bell has now been rectified, apparently it was a loose connection. Although room 9 is a quite a large room the kingsize bed just fits with the side drawers. Maybe we can look at putting a smaller bed it, but most guests prefer a king.

Four Poster
Four poster bedroom was very nice. Would recommend this guest house.

Ron Ward - 11th Mar, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Mr Ward, it was a pleasure having you stay with us
Liz

Overnight Stay
A truly outstanding establishment.

John Grainger - 28th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your comments Mr Grainger, it was a pleasure to accomodate you and be of service.
Liz Charwat

Good
Very nice and enjoyable stay, one issue was room was too cold at night and bath room door in room 7 would not close.

Miss. Hannah Hadwin - 19th Feb, 2013
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your comments, I note you were in our room 7, which is normally a very warm and cosy room, did you turn your thermostat up on your radiator, we are looking into the door on the ensuite

Many thanks Liz Charwat

Charnwood Lodge
Charnwood Lodge provided us with a good value room for a two night stay in October this year. The staff are polite and helpful and if returning to Loughborough I would certainly book again.

Murton - 5th Dec, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
thank you

Not Great
Nice room - although constant loud banging of the entrance door whenever a guest went in or out of the lodge.

My whole room smelt of whatever the restaurant had cooked that night.

Breakfast - I did not want a full English so £6.50 for cereal and toast seemed a little steep! The orange juice tasted as if it was gone off and the coffee tasted of cigarettes.

All in all the room and facilities were fine.

Greenslade - 23rd Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
I am sorry to read your comments, I am hoping that you voiced your concerns whilst here to the staff and that these matters were rectified. I am not sure how we can rectify the taste of the coffee as most of our guests enjoy the taste of the freshly ground filter coffee, this is probably a personal choice. The orange juice is regularly checked for dates etc., Loud banging of the door is unusual as there are door closes which allows the door to close slowly, again this is a first for us, We appreciate your comments and they will be noted. Many thanks. Liz Charwat

Lovely
Thank you so much for a lovely stay! Beds were super comfy, too comfy, none of us wanted to get up! But glad we did because the breakfast was gorgeous and we all had loads to eat and the kids chose exactly what they did and didn't want which made it hassle free!

Miss. Ruth Phillips - 2nd Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Great Return Visit
We returned to Charnwood Lodge, along with 8 other friends and famly,to celebrate our daughters wedding anniversary. 48 of us were here one year ago, when the wedding party left from Charnwood (we took over the whole building) for the event and stayed for the weekend. Once again, great service and a very pleasant stay. Thank you to Mel and all.

Malcom & Josie Adams - 22nd Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Superb Hotel
This hotel turned out to be a little gem. There was plenty of parking, my room was gorgeous, breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. I'd definitely stay here again.

Dr. Mashhuda Glencross - 19th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

A Warm Welcome
We couldn't have had a nicer stay in Loughborough. The welcome was friendly the room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was superb - we felt very comfortable and well looked after. We will definitely visit again. Thank you.

Mrs Sally-ann Thomas - 15th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Week-end Visit
A very friendly and comfortable hotel. Good location, especially if you are visiting the Great Central Railway.

Robin Jefford - 8th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Amazing Experience
Charnwood Lodge provided my husband and me with friendly environment and really made our visit pleasant. the staff was always ready to help us with anything we needed, the room was neat and surprisingly big, the towels were changed every day. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Vesselinova - 5th Oct, 2012
Verified Review

Charnwood
Found on arrival that we had been upgraded to a large, comfortable room with 4 poster bed. Bathroom was new and modern. Cooked breakfast was adequate.

Judith Garside - 29th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Graduation Made Special
Had a lovely stay at the Charnwood staff were extremley helpful (nothing too much trouble. Being able to check in at noon was great to get ready for graduation ceremony. Rooms were clean and comfortable, lovely bar area to relax in the evening finished off our daughter's graduation day very well.

Mrs. Julie Wood - 24th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Helpful
Very accommodating.

Mrs. Hazel Bartlett - 20th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

A Pleasure As Always.
As always the staff at Charnwood Lodge were welcoming and helpful, it's more like arriving at a family home than a B & B. Nothing is too much trouble and the surroundings are beautifully presented and a pleasure to stay at. Thank you and will be staying again in the future.

Ms. Gins Howe - 7th Sep, 2012
Verified Review

A Wonderful Nights Stay
When visiting relatives I normally use a well known chain of "sleep over" places.
These were full as I had little time to book.
I arrived to a warm and very friendly welcome and felt at home immediately.
The room was immaculate and had small thoughtful additions too.
All the staff I met were friendly including their lovely son :)
I will most certainly be back .
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Mrs. Lorraine Freeman - 16th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent.
Very pleasant welcome and a very comfortable room which was in good order throughout and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good and the staff very accommodating. This guest house is very well kept and equally well run. I highly recommend it.

Mr. Mark Lewis - 11th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Great Place
Friendly staff .. Very clean and tidy loved our room .. Great breakfast.. defiantly recommend and would defiantly go again next time for longer :-)

Miss. Mandy Barker - 9th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Would Come Again
The Lodge was pet friendly, had pleasant staff and breakfast was cooked to order
Our room was warm, it had all we needed and had direct outside access, ideal for the dog.
Perhaps the bed was a little firm but it was huge!
We would use this establishment again.

Mr. E.b. Wilkins - 24th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Friendly
Very friendly and thoughtful service, thank you

Mr. Dominic Berner - 21st Feb, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Guest House
A very welcoming place to stay. Comfortable room and very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Mr. Terence Cleary - 10th Dec, 2011
Verified Review

A Great Stay
Only stayed one night but everything was exactly what we wanted. I was impressed by the decent sized and immaculately clean room, the friendly welcome, and the cooked brekkie. Very handy for the GCR steam railway too. Thanks

Mr. Martin Tiller - 21st Nov, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent
Clean, very good and friendly service, will stay again

Mr. Konstantinos Kouparitsas - 2nd Oct, 2011
Verified Review

3 Night Stay
Had a lovely 3 nights break here early September to look round loughborough where I used to live in 1957. hotel very comfortable and clean with large size beds. Lovely and quiet area nothing disturbed our sleep. Good English breakfast nothing to complain about. Bedroom tap was a little stiff to turn off but owner called plumber same day to repair it. Would recommend this hotel

Mr. Dennis Scales - 28th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
Very warm welcome. Large comfortable room. Lovely fresh breakfast. Would definately stay again.

Miss. Kimberly Cox - 25th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent Experience
The triple room is spacious, clean & tidy. The dinning room is nicely decorated and the breakfast is good. The staff are helpful and polite. Overall, you may feel staying at home rather than lodge.

Mr. Man Cheung CHENG - 14th Sep, 2011
Verified Review

Wedding Sleepover!
lovely owner, great breakfast and comfy beds
would highly recommend

Mrs. Rebecca Wilson - 29th Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Highly Recomended
Very Lovely place to stay easy to find, friendly helpfull staff. highly recomended.

Mr. Jake Cooke - 22nd Jul, 2011
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
A very pleasant overnight stay. Very good and friendly service from the staff with a very enjoyable breakfast in the morning.

Mr. John Humphreys - 6th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

One Night Stay
pleasant stay, very helpful staff and nice breakfast. Found it strange that the on-suite was across the hallway, but never the less a nice stay. Very accomadating with arrival times.

Miss. Katie Kilgallen - 16th May, 2011
Verified Review

Very Satisfied
Very comfortable and clean. Staff very attentive. We have no hesitation in recommending Charnwood Lodge.

Mr. Philip Clarke - 7th May, 2011
Verified Review